Want to earn a free DisplayFusion Pro license? We're looking for DisplayFusion translators!
<< DiscussionsReply

Slow taskbar thumbnail preview

Avatar from Gravatar.com
UnderPL
5 discussion posts
I use the latest pro version (9.1) with windows 10, and I have a problem when I enable the multiple task bar function.

If I have a program opened multiple times (like Firefox or VLC), clicking on the task bar icons of the program normally shows a thumbnail preview of all the instance of the program. It normally works and is instantaneous but as soon as I enable multiple taskbar, I have to wait 2-4 seconds before I can see the thumbnails.
23 days ago  • #1
Keith Lammers (BFS)'s profile on WallpaperFusion.com
Binary Fortress Administrator
 Binary Fortress Administrator
Was this working ok in previous versions?
19 days ago  • #2
Avatar from Gravatar.com
UnderPL
5 discussion posts
Nope.
19 days ago  • #3
Keith Lammers (BFS)'s profile on WallpaperFusion.com
Binary Fortress Administrator
 Binary Fortress Administrator
Ok, could you send over a debug log?
  • On the DisplayFusion Settings > Troubleshooting tab, change the Logging drop-down to "L1: Log Minimal" and click Apply
  • Reproduce the issue and note the time so we'll know where to check in the log file
  • Click the "Export Info to File" button on the Settings > Troubleshooting tab
  • Reply with the file attached
  • Disable debug logging after sending the log
17 days ago  • #4
Avatar from Gravatar.com
UnderPL
5 discussion posts
Ok, and here some more details. This only happen in the second monitor taskbar (the one created by DisplayFusion), the taskbar in the main monitor is fast. The one in the second monitor is also noticeably slow when I unminimize a program (by clicking on it's icon in the taskbar) and the thumbnails (when multiple instances of a program is open) also takes times to close down, it's slow and feels like there are some missing frames.

7:35:50 :, I open click on notepad (with multiple instance) on the main monitor to make the thumbnails appear, they're fast.

7:36:10, I do the same thing in the second monitor (VLC) it's really slow

7:36:35 I click notepad on the taskbar (first monitor) and click on an instance in the thumbnail (it's fast)

7:36:50 I open one of the vlc instance (by clicking on a thumbnail preview image)

Thanks
• Attachment [protected]: DisplayFusionDebugInfo.zip [66,543 bytes]
17 days ago  • #5
Keith Lammers (BFS)'s profile on WallpaperFusion.com
Binary Fortress Administrator
 Binary Fortress Administrator
Thanks! When this happens, is CPU or memory usage high for the displayfusion.exe process?
16 days ago  • #6
Avatar from Gravatar.com
UnderPL
5 discussion posts
Right now it's at ~4% (while writing this), when I click on VLC and switch back and forth with steam (to make the thumbnail appear in both programs, it shoots up to between 25 and 35% (~70mb memory)
15 days ago  • #7
Keith Lammers (BFS)'s profile on WallpaperFusion.com
Binary Fortress Administrator
 Binary Fortress Administrator
Thanks! If you hover the mouse over the button does the preview open faster than when clicking on the button?
12 days ago  • #8
Avatar from Gravatar.com
UnderPL
5 discussion posts
Quote:
Thanks! If you hover the mouse over the button does the preview open faster than when clicking on the button?


Feels the same.
6 days ago  • #9
Keith Lammers (BFS)'s profile on WallpaperFusion.com
Binary Fortress Administrator
 Binary Fortress Administrator
Ok, just to double-check, could you try rolling back to 8.1.2 to see if the issue exists there? You can download and install it over top of your existing installation: https://www.displayfusion.com/OldVersion/
6 days ago  • #10
Was this helpful?  Login to Vote  Login to Vote
<< DiscussionsReply
Visit DisplayFusion on FacebookVisit DisplayFusion on TwitterVisit DisplayFusion on Google+Visit DisplayFusion on LinkedInSearch for DisplayFusion on RedditFollow DisplayFusion on RSSVisit DisplayFusion on Instagram
Copyright © 2007-2018 Binary Fortress Software • News • Discussions • 常見問題集 • 支援 • Privacy • ToS

Title

Message